Page 1 of 1
How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...???
Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:30 pm
by RBSe
Greetings,
How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...???
There must be a work-around but i don't know it.
Any help is much appreciated.
Robert
.
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:22 pm
by Andries Pretorius
Good morning Robert
Please give an example what you want to test for inequality, and for what purpose. Maybe, then we can explore possible options.
Best regards
Andries
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:22 am
by RBSe
Good Evening your time Andries,
OK, i gather this is not as simple as i thought.
How i was wanting to use it is:
IF x$ <> z$ THEN...
&
IF X <> Z THEN...
Is this what you meant Andries?
Enjoy your evening...
Robert
.
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 pm
by Daniel
Hi Robert
Do you want to test if both items are unequal?
Code: Select all
x$="abc"
y$="ac"
x=2
y=3
IF x$<>y$ AND x<>y THEN
PRINT "both pairs not equal"
ELSE
PRINT "one pair is equal"
ENDIF
END
works as advertised.
Daniel
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:56 am
by RBSe
Thanks Daniel,
Nowhere in the manual does it state that "<>" is valid, nor does it show any examples anywhere.
The closest it comes to is in page 18 of the manual where it says:
Valid expressions contain one of the five relational operators =, <, >, <= and >= and variables or constants.
It should also say:
Use "<" and ">" together to test for inequality, example: IF abc$ <> xyz$ THEN...
You can see why i questioned it...
Thanks again for spelling it out Daniel.
Enjoy!
Robert
.
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:18 pm
by Daniel
Hi
Point taken. I will update the manual to reflect the fact that there are six relational operators.
Daniel
Re: How do I test for in-equality, "A$ <> B$" & "A <> B"...?
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:51 pm
by Andries Pretorius
Apologies Robert! I did not fully understand your question the first time. I assumed that you new how to use the <> operator in Control Basic.
Thanks for pointing out the omission in the manual.
Best regards
Andries